02/05/15 12:00pm
02/05/2015 12:00 PM
Riverhead police officer Chris Burns is congratulated by Supervisor Sean Walter. (Credit: Tim Gannon)

Riverhead police officer Chris Burns is sworn in by Supervisor Sean Walter in 2012. (Credit: Tim Gannon, file)

Riverhead Police Officer Christopher Burns already had his department’s “officer of the year” award in the bag by Dec. 29, according to Police Chief David Hegermiller, who makes the choice.

But on the night of Dec. 29, Mr. Burns added the icing to the cake when he helped rescue a man who had fallen into the icy waters of the Peconic River.  (more…)

01/27/14 7:00am
01/27/2014 7:00 AM
PAUL SQUIRE PHOTO | Officer Dennis Cavanagh (left) and Michael Lombardo (right) stand with Captain Richard Smith after winning the Riverhead police department's Officer of the Year awards.

PAUL SQUIRE PHOTO | Riverhead Town Police Captain Richard Smith, center, with officers Dennis Cavanagh, left, and Michael Lombardo at Friday’s Southampton Kiwanis Police Awards Ceremony.

Riverhead Town police officers Dennis Cavanagh and Michael Lombardo were honored Friday as the department’s Officers of the Year for their quick actions in apprehending four drive-by shooting suspects. (more…)