Rogers secures second modified title

With a fifth-place finish at Riverhead Raceway on Saturday night, Tom Rogers Jr. of Patchogue sewed up the NASCAR modified championship, giving him two titles in the class, his first coming in 2004. Justin Bonsignore of Holtsville, the leading rookie driver on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, won the 35-lap modified feature race.

Rogers praised his team for its efforts. “My guys, most of whom have been with me for my figure eights and late model championships, stepped it up this year,” he said. “After last year I had something to prove and I think we did that with this championship.”

Bonsignore crossed the line first for his third career victory. John Fortin of Holtsville was the runner-up, and although he didn’t win the Riverhead title, he still leads the New York State rankings for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series. Bill Park of Manorville was third, Wayne Anderson of Yaphank fourth and Tommy Rogers Jr. of Patchogue fifth.

Just minutes after celebrating his modified title, Rogers jumped into a Chevy and drove to his second figure eight win of the season, a 15-lap contest. In doing so, he posted his 16th career win in the class. Scott Pedersen of Shirley moved past his brother, Arne, for the points lead with a second-place finish, giving him a four-point lead going into Saturday’s double-point race. Ken Hyde Jr. of Medford was third.

Shawn Patrick of Brightwaters was a late-model winner for the first time since 2004, winning a 25-lap affair. It was his third career win. Kevin Metzger of Massapequa was second and Scott Kulesa of Georgetown, Mass., third. Metzger leads Roger Oxee by 18 points and Mike Bologna by 20 with one race to go in the division.

Brian Doyle of Ronkonkoma notched his second charger win of the year when he won a 20-lap race for his third career win in the class. The points leader, Chris Turbush of Riverhead was second, with Daryn Miller of Franklin Square third. With one race to go, Turbush has a 14-point lead over Chris McGuire.

Rob Bader was in the right place at the right time to win his second consecutive blunderbust main event, third of the season and sixth of his career. Tommy Walkowiak of Ridge seemingly finished second to secure the championship, but NASCAR officials placed him last among the lead-lap cars because of an incident with Ray Shannon on Lap 14. That moved Scott Maliszewski of Deer Park to second and Tom Pickerell of Huntington to third. Walkowiak still has a healthy 38-point lead over Pickerell going into the finale on Saturday.

The 20-lap super pro truck event turned out to be a Dumicich family affair with Frank Dumicich Jr. of East Quogue outgunning his father, Frank Sr., for the 20-lap victory. Dumicich’s 11th career win moved him into a tie with Pat Smith for fourth on the all-time win list. Frank Dumicich Sr. was second with Roger Turbush of Riverhead third. That finish gives Roger Turbush a 26-point lead over Frank Dumicich Jr. going into Saturday’s final race.

Kevin Nowak of Medford clinched the legend race car championship when he crossed the line sixth for his first career track title. The 20-lap main event featured a battle between 68-year-old Silas Hiscock Sr. and Timmy Solomito for the race lead, with youth once again prevailing as Solomito scored his third win of 2010.