Auto Racing: Young moves to third on track’s all-time win list

NASCAR Modified veteran Chris Young of Calverton moved into some elite company Saturday night at Riverhead Raceway when he drove to his 33rd career victory at the 62-year-old facility. Young trails Charlie Jarzombek (63) and Jim Malone Sr. (50) on the track’s all-time win list.

“This win is pretty special,” Young said after the 35-lap race. “Charlie J and Jim Malone Sr. were drivers I idolized here and yet I still have Bill Park and Wayne Anderson to contend with today.”

Young and his wife, Ann, recently purchased a race track, Bronson Speedway in central Florida. “It’s kind of our next venture in racing, and we’ll make a go of it,” he said.

Dave Brigati of Calverton was second. Jerry Solomito of Islip turned some heads with his third-place finish. Wayne Anderson of Yaphank and Timmy Solomito of Islip completed the top five. Timmy Solomito, upon exiting his car, was rushed to a local hospital with a suspected broken wrist suffered during contact with five laps to go.

Shawn Patrick of Brightwaters notched his fourth career Late Model victory by warding off the persistent challenges of Peter Eriksen in the 25-lap affair. Peter Eriksen of Baldwin was a runner-up for the second straight week. Scott Kulesa of Georgetown, Mass., rallied for a third-place finish.

Chris Turbush of Riverhead collected his second win of the year, leading the final 15 laps of the 20-lap Super Pro Truck main event. It was the fifth career win in the class for Turbush, who is the three-time and defending Charger champion. Dave Koenig of Freeport was second, and the defending Super Pro Truck champion, Roger Turbush of Riverhead, was third.

The 20-lap Legend Race Car feature was trimmed down to 16 laps by the time limit. The race boiled down to a showdown between Timmy Solomito, who raced his way out front at the drop of the green flag, and Chris Young, who was seeking his second straight win.

On a single-file restart on Lap 12, Young shoved Solomito from behind hard into the first turn and was able to take over the lead at that point. But Solomito then did the same to Young to recapture the lead, which he held to the end. Kevin Nowak of Medford completed a late-race rally for second. Justin Strumpf of Selden was third.

Michael Rommeney of Maspeth dominated the full-size school bus figure eight race to score the win over Don Fox of Flanders in a 10-lap event.

The first minivan demolition derby was won by a driver making his first career start. Daniel Mulqueen of Levittown outlasted his brother, Matt, for the victory.

STROUD’S SUNDAY IS GRAND Walter Stroud of Yaphank had a grand afternoon Sunday at Riverhead Raceway when he topped the 50-lap Grand Enduro event in convincing fashion. Ben Gregor of Bridgehampton drove to victory in the 50-lap four/six-cylinder truck enduro.

Stroud took full advantage of his front-row starting berth, quickly racing to the lead when the green flag dropped. Bob Engelfried of Stony Brook finished second and David Antos of Lindenhurst was third.

In the four/six-cylinder truck enduro, Gregor pulled in front on the 35th lap and sped away to the victory. Don Nelson Jr. of Rocky Point was second and Rob McCormick of Calverton was third.

Anthony Pizzo of Lake Ronkonkoma drove to victory in the 75-lap feature for eight-cylinder cars. Dominic Ranieri of East Northport was second and veteran Bob Baker of Shirley placed third.

In the 50-lap nightcap for the eight-cylinders, Dominic Ranieri finished first and was immediately followed by Bob Baker and Walter Stroud.

Gene Burbol of Brookhaven ran away to the victory in the 50-lap, six-cylinder enduro, leading all the way. Jeffrey Gregor of Bridgehampton was second while Mitchell Pattern of Southold, a late entry in the race, came in third.

In the four-cylinder enduro that went a distance of 50 laps, Steve Trimboli of Freeport, the defending champion in the class, scored the win. Robert Endlekofer of Miller Place was second, with third going to Dennis Nelson of Rocky Point.