Third annual Riverhead Cardboard Boat Race set for today

VERA CHINESE FILE PHOTO | One of the entrants in the 2011 Riverhead Cardboard Boat Race.

The third annual Riverhead Cardboard Boat Race is set for noon on the Peconic River Waterfront in downtown Riverhead today. The event is sponsored by the Riverhead Business Improvement District.


Inspection begins,  10 a.m.

Hoola Hoop Contest begins, 11:30 a.m.

Boat race begins, 12 p.m.

RACE 1 — Youth Regatta
15 yrs. and under

RACE 2 — Riverhead Yacht Club Regatta
Single occupants

RACE 3 — Peconic River Special
Pontoon or Barge Race

RACE 4 — The Grand National Regatta


Supervisors race

Riverhead Supervisor Sean Walter vs Southampton Aupervisor Anna Throne Holst
Winner – Sean Walter

Youth regatta  — first heat

1st place: Wave Rage  – Greg Rosasco and Hayden Grill
2nd: Crayola Kids – Katelyn Zaneski and Emily Densieski
3rd: The Schwartzinator – C.J. Tyson, Shannon Hewlett, Sydney Sheren, Adam Sheren, Robert Kelly, Frankie Cooper

Youth regatta — second heat

1st place: Archimedes – Ian and Jay Oxman and Johah Holderer
2nd place: NO – Kurt Sinclair, Michael Cavedal
3rd place: Time Cutter – Daniel Alhadeff, Dominic Osojonak

Yacht Club Regatta – Single Occupant

1st place: U.S.S. Riverhead News Review – Joseph Tumminello
2nd place: Little Gull – Linda J. Nemeth
3rd place: Castaway – Ed Langdon

Peconic River Pontoon Boats

1st place: Bottom of the Barrel – Captain Erik Bilca, Dave Smith, Jeremy Tocher, Josh, Patrick Clemente, Chris Scarduzio, Andrew McCarthy, and Mark Schumacher
2nd place: Victoria’s real Secret – Jim Kleven and Ben Cotteletta
3rd place: Team Chaos – Kara Cush, Ashley Dethlefsen

Grand National Regatta

1st place: Black Mamba – Kevin J. Tuthill, Rob T. Mullen, Ryan M. Barker
2nd place: USS Monitor –  Sal, Christian and Sal Calvagna
3d place: Big Red – Jack Tyniec, Olivie Tyniec, Ryan Tyniec

Vogue Award: Don Johnson – Jeff Amdrade and Dan Baione
Most Creative: Dragon Fly – Darrell Harris, Aidan Powell, Ryan Powell
Best Costumed Crew: Jailbreak – Nick McKenna, Blake McKenna and Charlie Siscaretti
Spirit Award : SS Minnow – Capt. Nora Catlin, Jeff, Mark Sisson, John and Katrina Lovett, Ed, Laura Hunsberger
Titanic Award: SS last minute  – Ed Wormold and Reggie Bowman
Ugliest Boat: Yellow Submarine –  Aly Aylard, Merlhy Gutierezz, Christine Hollander and Nancy Chirello
Commanders Choice: USS Monitor – Sal, Christian, and Sal Calvagna
Best Captain: Peconic Pearl – Matthew and Brody Moorman
Worst Captain: The Barge – Pete King, Dave Camarata, Nick Camarata
Best Themed Award: Team Chaos  – Kara Cush, Ashley Dethlefsen


[nggallery id=115 template=galleryview]