Riverhead Raceway: Rogers becomes first repeat Modified winner

COURTESY PHOTO | Tom Rogers Jr. of Patchogue became the first NASCAR Modified repeat winner at Riverhead Raceway this season.


Tom Rogers Jr. of Patchogue became the first NASCAR Modified repeat winner of the 2012 Whelen All-American Series at Riverhead Raceway on Saturday night when he won a 35-lap feature. The win was the 16th for Rogers’ NASCAR Modified career and moved him to fourth in the 2012 championship chase.

Timmy Solomito of Islip was second and John Fortin of Holtsville came in third, trimming eight points off Howie Brode’s division points lead. Shawn Solomito of Islip was fourth and Dan Jivanelli of Hampton Bays finished fifth.

In other races:

Jarrod Hayes of Calverton picked a good night to make his 2012 Late Model debut. He dominated a 50-lap feature event, driving to his 10th career victory. Scott Kulesa of Georgetown, Mass., was second. Shawn Patrick of Brightwaters turned in a solid outing for third. Patrick trails the defending Late Model champion, Mike Bologna, by just eight points going into their next race on July 14.

Sixteen-year-old Jack Handley Jr. of Medford notched his second career Blunderbust win. Starting from the 17th position, Handley drove to the victory in the 20-lap main event. Rob Bader of Holtsville took second place. Tom Sullivan of Massapequa crossed the line third.

Frank Dumicich Jr. of East Quogue went winless during the 2011 Super Pro Trucks season. He wasn’t going to allow that to happen again this year. Dumicich won a 20-lap main event for his 12th career win in the class. The result moved him into a tie for fourth place in points with his father, Frank Dumicich Sr. Mike Albasini of Flushing was the runner-up, with third going to Lou Maestri of Deer Park.

Kyle Ellwood of Riverhead is on a roll in the Legend Race Car division. He won his second race in a row Saturday, giving him three for the season. After flashing under the checker flag, Ellwood said, “A guy can get used to this.”

Kevin Nowak of Medford earned second-place honors. Ellwood’s teammate, Jeffrey Goodale of Riverhead, was third.

Robin Vollmoeller of Riverhead collected his second Four/Six-Cylinder Truck Enduro win of the year, a 50-lap event. His son-in-law, Greg Harris of Riverhead, was second, with Don Nelson Jr. of Rocky Point third.