Riverhead School District

Find out who’s serving on Riverhead’s bus barn committee

The bus barn site on Edwards Avenue. (Credit: Barbaraellen Koch)

The Riverhead School District has appointed 31 people to serve on its newly formed bus transportation committee tasked with finding a way to deal with the district’s crumbling bus barn, the News-Review has learned.

According to a document the News-Review obtained this week through a Freedom of Information request, the committee includes:

• Cliff Baldwin
• Raymond Baldwin
• Marta Baumiller
• David Bozuhoski
• Brendan Byrne
• Amala Cain
• Nancy Carney, Superintendent of Schools
• Tom Carson, school board member
• Arlene Chastaine
• Justin Cobis
• Mary Cunningham
• Kevin Davis
• Victoria Farruggia
• Mark Finnerty
• Dan Flynn
• Jennifer Hartmann
• Carl Iacone
• Frances Iacone
• David Lantz
• John Longo
• Sal Mastropaolo
• Greg Meyer, school board vice president
• Tamara Olson
• Trish Polcha
• Allison Pressler
• Nancy Reyer, parent
• Sam Schneider, assistant superintendent
• Gene Sendlewski
• Chris Sheldon
• Vincent Taldone, Flanders Riverside & Northampton Community Association president
• Dawn Thomas

In May, residents voted down a proposition that would have allowed the district to relocate the bus garage near Phillips Avenue Elementary School in Riverside. The district later announced it would create a transportation committee and asked for volunteers to apply in September.

VHB Engineering, Surveying and Landscape Architecture was awarded a $22,500 contract on Feb. 11 to conduct a traffic survey and environmental study of a 6-to-8 acre lot located near the intersection of Edwards Avenue and Route 25 in Calverton. The property is owned by Edward Partridge.

Ms. Carney has said the location is attractive because a hauling company currently operates there and would be a cost-effective purchase for the district since the property includes an existing garage facility.

[email protected]