Riverhead School District

Riverhead BOE elects Meyer as new president, Koukounas as VP

Riverhead school board vice president Greg Meyer honoring Ann Cotten-DeGrasse during last month's meeting. (Credit: Jennifer Gustavson, file)
Riverhead school board vice president Greg Meyer honoring Ann Cotten-DeGrasse during last month’s meeting. (Credit: Jennifer Gustavson, file)

Update: The Riverhead school board elected Greg Meyer as its new president Tuesday night. Susan Koukounas was elected as the new vice president. Check back for updates.

Original preview:

The Riverhead school board is scheduled to elect its newest president at Tuesday’s reorganizational meeting.

Ann Cotten-DeGrasse stepped down as the seven-member board’s president at the June 24 meeting after serving for six years. She announced last year during her campaign for town supervisor that she would not seek re-election at the end of her second school board term.

The school board is also expected to elect a vice president, which is currently held by Greg Meyer, and swear-in newly elected board member Lori Hulse.

There are also dozens of appointments slated to be approved Tuesday night, including a “District-wide School Safety Team” comprised of: a BOCES Health & Safety Officer; Joan Becht; Michael Butler; Amala Cain; Betsy Chappell; Theresa Curry; David Denieski; Rose D’Orsogna; David Enos; Cathy Fasanelli; Mark Finnerty; Lisa Goulding; Bill Groth; Chris Hand; Don Henderson; Sonya Henderson; Paul Hewitt; Catherine Kent; Phil Kent; Eileen F. Manitta; Alice McKillop; Tom Payton; Andrea Pekar; Charles Regan; Edie Reisenberg; Debra Rodgers; Camille Stephens; Ed Tholl; Xiomara White; and David Wicks.

Following the annual reorganizational meeting, the school board is scheduled to hold its regular board meeting.

The school board is expected to award Ohio-based Janson Industries a $225,000 contract to conduct “theatrical work scope” at the middle school, according to the resolution.

As for a bid proposal the district recently received for an irrigation system project, the school board is expected to reject the undisclosed offer.

District purchasing agent Janette Velardi and plant facilities administrator Mark Finnerty have recommended the school board reject the bid, which they said is the only one the district received, the resolution states.

The public portion of the meeting starts at 7 p.m. in the Aquebogue Elementary School’s library.

Scroll down to view the complete agenda and check back for an update.

Riverhead School Board Meeting Agenda July 8 2014