Auto Racing: Solomito sweeps Modified races


Shawn Solomito of East Moriches earned victories in both Twin 30 NASCAR Modified main events on Week Two of the NASCAR Whelen All American Series at Riverhead Raceway on Saturday.

Not only that, but Tom Rogers Jr. of Riverhead and Ron Silk of Norwalk, Conn., were second and third, respectively in both races. Vinny Biondolillo of Farmingville was fourth and John Fortin of Holtsville was fifth in the first race. In the second race, fourth place went to Eric Goodale of Riverhead and fifth to Fortin once again.

In other races:

Scott Kulesa of Georgetown, Mass., rebounded from a rough opening night in the Late Model ranks to score a 25-lap victory, the 21st of his career. Chris LaSpisa of Shirley was the runner-up, with Jeremy McDermott of Riverhead third.

Tom Rogers Jr. of Riverhead picked up his 20th career win in a 15-lap Figure Eight race. Roger Maynor of Bay Shore was second, ahead of the third-place Scott Pedersen of Shirley.

It is not often that Chris Turbush of Wading River starts a Charger feature on the front row but that is where the four-time track champion was on Saturday. Where he ended up was in victory lane for his 40th career win. Ray Minieri of Bay Shore crossed the line second. C. J. Lehmann of Shirley was third.

Jack Handley Jr. is off to another fast start in Blunderbust competition. He is now 2 for 2 in 2015, winning another 20-lap main event. Tom Sullivan of Massapequa came home second. The defending champion, Tom Pickerell of Huntington, raced his way from ninth to finish third.

Another driver off to a quick start to the season is the defending Super Pro Truck champion, Lou Maestri of Deer Park. Maestri won his second straight race, a 20-lapper. It was his 29th career win. Roger Turbush of Riverhead claimed second. Dave Brigati of Calverton made a late-race pass for third.

After a tough opening night that ended with a crash, Artie Pedersen III of Center Moriches rebounded nicely Saturday evening as he won the 20-lap Legend Race Car feature for his second career win. Josh Williams of Concord, N.C., was second while Devin O’Connell of Westbrook, Conn., drove in third after starting eighth.