Featured Story

Riverhead High School inducts 66 students into National Honor Society

honor societyRiverhead High School inducted 66 new students into the National Honor Society last week.

Those members got a quick start on their community service by holding a fundraiser at the induction itself.

The students were sworn in at a ceremony at the high school Wednesday night. Honor Society President Samantha Dunn presided over the ceremony and Principal Charles Regan praised the students for their hard work and dedication.

“Yes, your high grades made it possible for you to qualify, but your induction is based on much more than your grades,” he said in an emailed statement. “It is also a reflection of all that you do outside of the classroom and in the community.”

Laural Olsen, one of the group’s co-advisors, said the 66 inductees are a “cross-section of our student population.”

In an attempt to get more students to participate in service projects, Ms. Olsen said the group held the induction earlier than usual and even ran a Chinese auction fundraiser during the ceremony. The proceeds of that auction went to The Brendan House, a 10-bedroom care facility in Riverhead for people with traumatic brain injuries or other cognitive and physical disabilities.

The officers for next year are Roy Vasquez as president, Casey Plitt as vice president, Grace Dow as secretary and Kyle Gevinski as treasurer. RHS Band Director Jason Rottkamp was also inducted at the ceremony as an honorary member.

Read below for a full list of the 66 inductees:

  • Dayanna Alvarez
  • Ella Baldwin
  • Christian Baron
  • Kurt Bernhardt
  • Brielle Borges
  • Sarah Bornstein
  • Justin Brennan
  • Abygaele Brophy
  • Megan Brunner
  • Janelle Carey
  • Amaya Coach
  • Eric Cunha
  • Shania Daniel
  • Kristina Danowski
  • Karol Danowski
  • Michelle Deschamps
  • Grace Dow
  • Dana Edwards
  • Tristan Falisi
  • Cesar Flores
  • Luke Forgacs
  • Angelina Gallo
  • Miriam Garcia Avalos
  • Kyle Gevinski
  • Vanessa Giron-Berganza
  • Henry Gobrick
  • Sarah Goldberg
  • Amelia Gove
  • Isabella Green
  • Kathleen Gregory
  • Vanessa Hernandez
  • Jazmin Hernandez Balbuena
  • Kelly Horyczun
  • Elizabeth Hubbard
  • Daniel Hubbard
  • Daniel Jones
  • Kaitlyn Keane
  • Claudia Lagun
  • Susana Llamas Olivia
  • Megan Lohmann
  • Brandon Lynn
  • Dena Mohammad
  • Ian Moloney
  • Bella Morocho
  • Marisa Murgolo
  • Tahnaja Murray
  • Kyle Oak
  • Kaitlyn Palermo
  • Mackenzie Palmer
  • Aliyah Phelps
  • Julia Pizzuto
  • Casey Plitt
  • Susam Ramos Deulofeutt
  • Nicolette Renten
  • Sarah Rosenbaum
  • Kevin Ruano Estrada
  • Ashleigh Rubino
  • Aldan Saltini
  • Natalie Scura
  • Julia Thomas
  • Roy Vazquez
  • Anderson Velasquez
  • Cailyn Wallace
  • Maya Williams
  • Skylar Wowak
  • Shannon Zeltmann

Photo caption: The new inductees of Riverhead High School’s National Honor Society chapter at Wednesday’s induction. (Courtesy photo)

[email protected]