Incumbent defeated in Wading River FD commissioner race


A new Wading River Fire District commissioner was elected Tuesday in the area’s only contested race.

Challenger Jim Meier was elected to a five-year term after defeating incumbent Mike Harrigan by a 348-286 vote.

Mr. Meier had been a commissioner for 10 years before losing by two votes last year. He said Tuesday’s voter turnout was one of the largest for a fire commissioner election in Wading River.

• In Jamesport, two incumbent commissioners ran unopposed. Lee Anthony was elected to a five-year term after receiving 48 votes. Steve Czelatka got 38 write-in votes.

Harold “Duffy” Griffiths III ran to complete the remaining three years of the term vacated by Joel Lazarus, to which he was appointed. Mr. Griffiths received 77 votes.

District treasurer Paul Epperlein ran unopposed to serve a three-year term and was re-elected with 77 votes.

• In Flanders, incumbent Joe Cavaluzzi chose not to seek re-election and Frank Belson ran unopposed to serve a five-year term. Mr. Belson received 11 votes.

• In Riverhead, incumbent John Tradeski Jr. ran unopposed for a five-year term and was elected with 52 votes.

• In Manorville, incumbent William Hille was unopposed in his bid for a five-year term was reelected with 64 of 66 votes.

The Manorville ballot also carried a proposition about whether to amend the district’s Length of Service Award Program by raising the maximum service award available to participants from $20 per month to $30 per month. It was approved by a 64 to 3 margin.
The award program provides qualified volunteers with pension-like payments based on the duration of their service.

[email protected]

Photo: Wading River Fire Department. (Credit: News-Review, file)