News-Review wins big in New York better newspaper contest

For the fourth consecutive year, Times Review Media Group, publishers of the Riverhead News-Review, took home more awards than any other newspaper group from the New York Press Association’s Better Newspaper Contest, earning a total of 69 awards.

The News-Review earned the third most editorial contest points of any newspaper in the state. The paper took home 25 awards, including first place honors for Advertising Excellence, Front Page, Coverage of Education, Coverage of Crime/Police/Courts, Editorials, Use of Video, Sports Feature Photo, Spot News Photo and Best House Ad/Ad Campaign.

“It is always a great honor to receive this type of recognition,” said Times Review publisher Andrew Olsen. “Our staff strives to produce the best possible community journalism for our readers and to innovate to meet current needs. I believe these awards reflect our commitment to adapt, as we were honored for both our print and digital work.”

Former Times Review reporter Paul Squire, who recently joined the staff of the New York Post, took home both first and second place honors in the video category and first and third place honors for Feature Story — the most competitive category in the contest. His first place feature award was for his story commemorating the 20th anniversary of TWA Flight 800.

“This story has all the hallmarks of superb craftsmanship: relevance, timeliness, good flow and emotion,” a judge said of the crash feature.

Times Review sports editor Bob Liepa was runner up for Sports Writer of the Year.


In-depth Reporting (first place): Following brother’s tragic death, Laurel man wants us to confront the heroin epidemic

Feature Story (first place): Twenty years later, remembering TWA Flight 800

Feature Story (second place): From Turkey to Southold in pursuit of the American Dream

News Story (second place): Police seek new information in 1981 Mattituck double drowning, offer $15K reward

East End newspapers again dominated the competition with the Sag Harbor Express winning Newspaper of the Year — as well as the top editorial and advertising prizes — and the Press Newsgroup of Southampton earning the second most contest points of any newspaper group in the state. Express managing editor Steven J. Kotz was named Writer of the Year.

“I can think of no better collection of journalists to be honored alongside than our peers on the South Fork,” said Times Review executive editor Grant Parpan. “Their work inspires us on a weekly basis.”

Members of the Washington Newspaper Publishers Association judged the 184 newspapers in the contest, reviewing 2,957 entries in 67 categories.

The awards were presented at the New York Press Association Convention Friday and Saturday in Saratoga Springs. Dallas Morning News editor Mike Wilson and Boston College professor Martha Bayles served as keynote speakers at the convention.

Top photo: Former News-Review reporter Paul Squire won a first place Sports Feature award for this photo of local jiu-jitsu competitor Elvio Estrada. (Credit: Paul Squire)