Rogers streaks to modified victory

For the third time this year, Tom Rogers Jr. of Patchogue scored a NASCAR modified victory at Riverhead Raceway on Saturday when he topped the field in a 50-lap feature. It was his 12th career victory.

“I hear that people think I have traction control,” Rogers said. “I don’t and they can go through this car if they’d like. My wins and six straight top-three finishes are a product of good, old-fashioned hard work.”

Justin Bonsignore of Holtsville scored his best Riverhead effort of the year with a runner-up finish, while Chuck Steuer of Bohemia passed perhaps the most cars in the race to collect third. Jimmy Blewett of Howell, N.J., and John Fortin of Holtsville completed the top five. Fortin leads Rogers in points, 364 to 344.

The charger 20-lap feature event saw Chris Turbush of Riverhead come back after a one-race suspension to post his third win of the season and 22nd for his career. Kevin Orlando of Calverton took over the points lead with his second-place showing, and Jay Henschel of Levittown crossed the line third.

The blunderbust division once again had the fans on the edge of their seats with a three-car race for the lead in the closing laps. The win went to Scott Maliszewski of Deer Park, who was in a borrowed car for his 12th career victory in a 30-lap main event. Tommy Walkowiak of Ridge was second, and Tom Pickerell of Huntington third.

Timmy Solomito of Islip started his high school graduation week off in fine fashion, winning the 20-lap legend race car feature event for his first win of 2010. A wild late-race battle for second place went to Johnny Gloor IV of Flanders. Defending champion Tony Naglieri of Lindenhurst took third.

Michael Rommeney of Maspeth won a 12-lap full-size school bus race.

James Killkenny of Howard Beach won the eight-cylinder demolition derby.

FATHER’S DAY WINS FOR DENIS, NOWAK The traditional Father’s Day Enduro card at Riverhead Raceway on Sunday afternoon provided one of the most exciting finishes in grand enduro history. Jimmy Denis of Middle Island survived a wild, final 10-lap duel to post his first victory of 2010. Kevin Nowak of Medford collected his second win of the season in the four-/six-cylinder truck enduro, with both races going a distance of 50 laps. Following his second career win, just five days prior to his high school graduation, Denis said, “This is my Father’s Day gift for my dad, Scott.”

Shawn Wanat of Riverhead won a six-cylinder enduro, dominating a 50-lap race. Kevin Nowak drove to a second straight victory in a 50-lap, four-/six-cylinder truck enduro.

The two-time defending eight-cylinder enduro champion, Dege Russell of Rocky Point, notched the victory in the first of two races for the class, a 75-lap contest. In the 50-lap nightcap, Bob Baker scored his first win of the year after being chased by runner-up Anthony Pizzo of Lake Ronkonkoma.

Pizzo won a 75-lap, four-cylinder enduro.