Lia triumphs on borrowed wheels

When the 2009 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion, Donny Lia of Jericho, was named the guest driver for Wayne Anderson’s legendary No. 15 car at Riverhead Raceway on Saturday, some might have expected that Lia would give the vehicle a good run. Lia didn’t disappoint, driving from a 16th starting position to victory lane. While the triumph was Lia’s seventh career victory at Riverhead Raceway, it was the 32nd time Anderson’s car sat in victory lane, but the first without Anderson at the controls.

“This might just be the best car I’ve ever had here at Riverhead,” Lia said after being greeted by a beaming Anderson.

Tom Rogers Jr. of Patchogue remained on a roll, finishing second. He has two wins and two runner-up finishes in the last four races. Chuck Steuer of Bohemia crossed the line third. Eddie Brunnhoelzl III of Levittown was fourth and the division leader, John Fortin of Holtsville, came in fifth.

In other events:

Kenny Hyde Jr., who will soon graduate from Patchogue-Medford High School, won his first career figure eight feature event in a race that saw the time limit run out after a mere four laps were run. Hyde, 17, is the youngest driver ever to win a figure eight feature. Afterward, Hyde said, “Hey, I’d like to see the race go 15 laps, but a win is a win and I’ll take it.”

Scott Pedersen of Shirley was second, and Roger Maynor of Bay Shore placed third.

Chris McGuire of Shirley notched his second win of 2010 when he topped a 30-lap, double-point charger feature event. It was a career milestone 10th victory for McGuire. Kevin Orlando of Calverton crossed the line second, and third went to Jeremy McDermott of Riverhead.

Tim Mulqueen of Levittown was another driver enjoyed his first career victory. The former Freeport Stadium driver, who is in his third season of racing in the class, won the 20-lap blunderbust feature event. Tom Sullivan of Massapequa was second. Scott Maliszewski of Deer Park took third.

After a tough race the week before, the legend race cars rebounded with a competitive 20-lap main event that saw Tom Rogers Jr. of Patchogue score his first career win in the class. Kevin Nowak of Medford was the runner-up. Chris Young of Calverton finished third.

Brian Savoy of Lake Panamoka won the second skid plate race of 2010 in a 10-lap contest that started 13 cars.

Enduro veteran Bob Haeger of Hampton Bays won the six-cylinder enduro division in a 50-lap contest. The second-place finisher was Gene Burbol of Brookhaven, with Jeffrey Gregor of Bridgehampton placing third.