Young drives into tie for third on all-time win list

Veteran NASCAR modified driver Chris Young of Calverton has had his share of ups and downs in 2010 at Riverhead Raceway, but Saturday night was an up. Young roared to his 32nd career NASCAR modified victory in a 35-lap affair. The victory tied him with Bill Park for third on the all-time win list.

In victory lane, Young was not only happy with his first win since June 21, 2008, but also who he raced against. “I’m just happy to be racing with Danny [Jivanelli] and Wayne [Anderson] after what they’ve been through recently,” he said, alluding to Jivanelli’s open-heart surgery in the spring of 2009 and Anderson’s medical episode at the track back in May.

Anderson of Yaphank, who was also seeking his 32nd career victory, was the runner-up. Chuck Steuer of Bohemia was third, John Beatty Jr. of Valley Stream fourth and Jivanelli of Hampton Bays fifth.

With one race remaining in the season this coming Saturday, Tom Rogers Jr. holds a 12-point lead over John Fortin and Chuck Steuer in the championship race. Both Rogers and Fortin were way down in the finishing order after losing multiple laps in the pits Saturday.

In other races:

Second-generation driver C. J. Lehmann of Mastic Beach posted his first career charger win in a 20-lap feature event. Kevin Orlando of Calverton was second and the new points leader, Chris Turbush of Riverhead, took third. Turbush, with two races to go, holds a slim four-point lead over Chris McGuire, with Orlando some 20 points back in third.

Rob Bader of Holtsville collected his second blunderbust win of the year after fighting off a hard-pressing Tommy Walkowiak. The win was the fifth of his career. Walkowiak of Ridge came in second. Kevin Rommeney of Maspeth was right in the mix late in the race before finishing third. With a 64-point lead over Tom Pickerell, Walkowiak can clinch his fourth blunderbust title in five years with a good run on Saturday.

The 20-lap super pro truck night main event was a Dumicich family affair as Frank Dumicich Jr. of East Quogue scored his second win of the season. Complementing his 10th career super pro truck win is the fact that Dumicich has also won twice this year in the charger division. Dave Koenig of Freeport was second, and Erin Dumicich of East Quogue, the winner’s younger sister, sealed third. With two races to go, Roger Turbush leads Koenig by 28 points for the championship. Frank Dumicich Jr. is third, 30 points behind Turbush.

Ben Gregor of Bridgehampton scored his second consecutive four-/six-cylinder truck enduro victory after a late-race fight for the win with Shawn Wanat of Riverhead during their 50-lap main event. They were the only two to finish 50 laps. Rob McCormick of Calverton was third.

In the final tuneup before the Sept. 18 National Demolition Derby Championship at Riverhead Raceway, James Killkenny of Howard Beach won the eight-cylinder demolition derby. In order to collect the win, Killkenny had to outlast his uncle, former world champion Bobby Benison of Lindenhurst.

DENIS, VOLLMOELLER SHARE WINNER’S CIRCLE The Labor Day weekend of racing at Riverhead Raceway concluded Sunday afternoon when Jimmy Denis of Middle Island won his second grand enduro of 2010. Veteran Robin Vollmoeller Sr. of Riverhead won his first four-/six-cylinder truck enduro of the season, with both races going a distance of 50 laps.