Auto Racing: Rogers raises trophy after second win in a row


Tom Rogers Jr. of Riverhead made it two wins in a row at Riverhead Raceway on Saturday night, winning the prestigious Baldwin, Evans & Jarzombek 77 for his third NASCAR Modified win of the year and the 27th of his career.

“Good thing we won last week and tonight because that is how the car is being funded,” said Rogers, who hoisted the trophy in victory lane. “We keep going good, we keep going.”

Ron Silk of Norwalk, Conn., was second. Ryan Preece of Berlin, Conn., could only get back to third after passing more cars than perhaps any other driver in the race. Jeffery Goodale of Riverhead and Eddie Brunnhoelzl III of Levittown completed the top five.

In other races:

For the past two seasons Charger standout C. J. Lehmann of Mastic Beach has been moonlighting in a Figure Eight car and Saturday night he hit paydirt, winning a 15-lap main event. Roger Maynor of Bay Shore, the all-time leading winner at Riverhead Raceway, would took second and Ken Hyde Jr. of Mastic Beach was third.

Ray Minieri of Bay Shore reached a milestone with the 20th win of his career and his second Charger victory of 2014. Lehmann took second and David Roys of Coram placed third.

Jack Handley Jr. of Medford started 15th in a 20-lap Blunderbust feature but that didn’t stop the 18-year old talent from weaving his way through traffic and finishing first for the third time this season. Immediately following Handley were Tom Sullivan of Massapequa and first-year driver Joe Warren Jr. of Rocky Point.

On the first anniversary of his first career Legend Race Car win, Vinny Delaney of Holtsville celebrated by scoring his first win of the year in a 20-lap event. Brad Van Houten of Wading River and Artie Pedersen III of Center Moriches were second and third, respectively.