07/13/15 11:23am
07/13/2015 11:23 AM


A tranquil summer night of NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing turned heated at the end of a 35-lap NASCAR Modified feature event Saturday at Riverhead Raceway when a late-race pass by Ryan Preece of Berlin, Conn., was called back for being below the line, enabling John Fortin of Holtsville to take home the win. The postrace debate on the ruling lasted hours after the final checker flag waved.  (more…)

06/29/15 2:37pm
06/29/2015 2:37 PM


It took two days to get the Hoosier Tire 200 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race in the books this past weekend at Riverhead Raceway. After numerous rain delays that forced the race to be moved from Saturday evening to Sunday afternoon, and then after fighting off three rain delays on Sunday, the race was finally completed, with Justin Bonsignore of West Islip standing in victory lane.

Just as the cars rolled to the track Saturday for the 200-lapper, the rains moved in. Attempts to dry the track were in vain and the race was moved to Sunday afternoon. (more…)

06/08/15 12:18pm
06/08/2015 12:18 PM

Ryan Preece of Berlin, Conn., wrapped up a magical week of NASCAR Modified racing Saturday night, winning the annual Baldwin, Evans & Jarzombek Memorial NASCAR Modified 50 at Riverhead Raceway. It was the third win in seven days for the talented 24-year-old driver who won two NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour events in a one-week span at the New London Waterford Speedbowl and Stafford Motor Speedway prior to the Riverhead triumph.  (more…)

06/01/15 1:29pm
06/01/2015 1:29 PM

Earlier in the week leading up to the Twin 30 NASCAR Modified features this past Saturday night at Riverhead Raceway, Kyle Ellwood and his team decided to withdraw from a NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event at the New London Waterford Speedbowl which was Saturday evening as well in Connecticut. The decision was made in part because of logistical reasons. It was a choice that paid dividends when he swept both races in front of family and friends. (more…)

05/26/15 1:00pm
05/26/2015 1:00 PM

Who said a race car driver can’t win a race in the first few laps? Certainly not Ryan Preece.

The driver from Berlin, Conn., scored a 35-lap NASCAR Modified victory at Riverhead Raceway on Saturday night after spending the first five laps of the race fighting side by side for the lead with Timmy Solomito and Tom Rogers Jr. before edging out in front.

Preece, making only his second start of the season, not only claimed the victory but also the lead for the track championship lead by one point over Tom Rogers Jr., 105-104. (more…)

05/18/15 2:00pm
05/18/2015 2:00 PM

While six NASCAR Whelen All American Series events were run Saturday night at Riverhead Raceway the biggest race of the evening was the one waged against Mother Nature to beat the impending rain. It was a race the raceway won, and Tom Rogers Jr. of Riverhead was sure glad it did. Rogers triumphed in both a 35-lap NASCAR Modified feature as well as the annual Cromarty Cup 20 for the Figure Eights.

Rogers scored his 34th career NASCAR Modified win, moving him into sole possession of third place on the all-time Riverhead Raceway win list behind Charlie Jarzombek (63) and Jim Malone Sr. (50). (more…)